Talks and Poster Presentations (with Proceedings-Entry):

D. Browne, R. Foley, M. Schuss, H. Simonis, C. de Torre, D. Willis:
"Alternative methods for advanced energy management";
Talk: CESBP - 2nd Central European Symposium on Building Physics, Wien, Österreich; 2013-09-09 - 2013-09-11; in: "Proceedings of the 2nd Central European Symposium on Building Physics 9-11 September 2013, Vienna, Austria", A. Mahdavi, B. Martens (ed.); ÖKK-Editions, 1 (2013), ISBN: 978-3-85437-321-6; 451 - 458.

English abstract:
In this paper we discuss the design and underlying rationale of the solver module for the energy management platform developed as part of the European FP7 project Campus21. The optimization module uses a declarative, object-oriented description of the building management scenario. It is based on components, whose behavior is described by variables, constraints and objectives, and energy flows, which describe the interconnection of components in the model. A special type of energy flow is the heat transfer between components, which is based on the temperature properties of the connected components. The generated model is solved with a mixed integer programming system, in our case CPLEX. We explain the operation of the system on one of the selected demonstrator use cases in the Campus21 project, the Environmental Research Institute (ERI) building, which is part of University College Cork. The building combines a solar-thermal array,
a geo-thermal heat pump, conventional gas-fired boilers with a limited amount of hot water storage and an under floor room heating system. Windows are equipped with automated blinds that can be used to control the solar gain to south-facing rooms. Our approach is centered on three core design choices: We use a deterministic
model, solve the model with mixed integer programming, and we have developed the complete system in Java for easy integration with the middleware components of the Campus21 platform.

German abstract:
none - see english version.

Created from the Publication Database of the Vienna University of Technology.